A Baby Quilt for Me

 

I have a backlog of quilts and projects to write about (what’s new?) and less time than ever in which to do so – but work is exceptionally slow and boring today, so let’s see what can be done.

I think I finished this quilt a little over a year ago.

P1120943

My munchkin was due in early June, and I had a cousin expecting a baby in May and my sister-in-law due in July, so I had a frenzied few months of quiltmaking.

P1120919

The design of quilt is loosely inspired by my beloved baby quilt, made for me by my Granny – I forgot to take a photo of it, though, and they don’t really look that much alike. It’s the spirit of the thing, I guess. Anyway, this quilt started with the flowered fabric used for the largest squares: I bough this at the Marimekko store on the Esplanade the first time I visited Helsinki. I was coming down with a cold and felt dizzy and out of it, but when has that ever stopped anyone from buying fabric? And I’m very glad I did, because Marimekko discontinued this colorway.

P1120922

While looking for coordinating fabrics in my stash, I found an almost perfect match in this Japanese rabbit fabric that I bought… probably over a decade ago. (Okay, while I say fabric stash the reality may be closer to fabric hoard. And I am perched atop it with a cup of tea, a very satisfied fabric dragon indeed.)

P1120926

I added the plum sakura print fabric (also from my stash – fairly sure I bought this at my local quilting store) to add some warmth and contrast to the blue/white palette.

P1120921

I only had half a yard of the bunny fabric, which wasn’t quite enough, so the navy sakura print was added as a “design feature.” I also used it for the binding, to help pull the quilt together & make it more cohesive.

P1120928

The backing is a brushed double gauze purchased from Miss Matatabi. I think the sheep are so cute! Speaking of sheep, I also made a swaddling blanket out of more double gauze from Miss Matatabi.

P1120938

The pattern is called Sheeeep (plus or minus some e’s) and look, it even features tiny sheepdogs!

And finally, because I can’t resist, our own noble dogbeast, posing very nicely. (The painting over the crib was painted by my Granny – it’s of angels over the Earth, and it hung over our bed for many years before I decided the baby would need some guardian angels.)

WP_20160305_18_49_51_Pro

I’m happy with how this quilt came out – it’s more simple than most of the baby quilts I make, but it’s cozy, the fabrics make me happy, and it came together quickly. Maybe someday the munchkin will even appreciate it, instead of just spitting up milk on it. šŸ˜‰ At least the dog appreciates it – she frequently curls up and sleeps on it!

3 thoughts on “A Baby Quilt for Me

Leave a Reply

